Lemon-Orange & Cointreau Sorbet

Last year for my birthday, Daryl bought me an ice cream maker. I really wanted to give making my own ice creams a go AND I was really sick of eating terrible ice cream that had melted and then been refrozen before I had bought it. You never can trust the cold chain in PNG- always expect it to have failed. Frozen vegies? Nope. REFROZEN vegies. Frozen chips? Nope. REFROZEN (and soggy) chips. Always expect a fail in that department.

Back to the topic… so I also got a great Ice cream recipe book called ‘The Perfect Scoop’ by David Lebovitz. It really ignites the passion for creating your own ice cream concoctions. My favourites are the sorbets. You can’t beat a great citrus sorbet on a hot day. I have many hot days here in PNG so I try to always have a citrus sorbet in my freezer.

I’d had the idea to make up the perfect scoop of Lemon-Orange & Cointreau Sorbet a few months back when I ran out of lemons for my lemon sorbet. I had no limes so I used 1 orange to make up the last 50mL of freshly squeezed juice I needed. I also added 2 tbsp of Cointreau but couldn’t really taste it. I decided to perfect this sorbet over the weekend and the results, I must say, were fantastic. Daryl, an avid lover of the Lemon Sorbet who was refusing to be converted, was converted. We haven’t even sat down to a proper serve of it yet (just the sneaky tastes as it froze) and he has already put in another order. Luckily I have the lemons and oranges to do it.

I wrote about it back when I first made it but felt it needed a little more experimentation and so now, here I am, updating this blog to make sure you get the best recipe.

Now down to the recipe…

Ingredients
2 1/2 cups cold water
1 cup sugar
1 Lemon (unsprayed)
1 Orange (unsprayed)
200mL Juice freshly squeezed Lemons
50mL Juice of freshly squeezed Oranges
4oz Cointreau, or, to taste

Method
1. Mix 1/2 cup of the water, the sugar and rind of 1 lemon and 1 Orange in a saucepan.
2. Heat, stirring often.
3. Remove from the heat and add the remaining water
4. Allow the mixture to chill in refrigerator.
5. Strain chilled mixture to remove the zest.
6. Add the lemon and orange juices as well as the Cointreau.
7. Place mixture in ice cream maker and follow manufacturer’s instructions (I let mine go for 20 to 25 minutes).
8. When the ice cream maker has done it’s thing, put it in your ice cream container and then in the refrigerator to continue freezing. You may need to mix it up some more at least 2 times over the next 2-3 hours to ensure it doesn’t freeze like an ice cube.

Notes
1. If you’re like me and can’t get unsprayed lemons and oranges, fill your sink up with cold water and washing detergent. Gently wash the fruit and rinse & dry thoroughly before zesting. Nobody likes the taste of pesticides in their sorbet!

2 responses to “Lemon-Orange & Cointreau Sorbet

  1. Pingback: Lime Sorbet | The Batchelor Pad

  2. Pingback: The Batchelor Pad

Leave a Reply

