To Knit Up (a neckband)… or not

I mentioned in a previous post how I had knitted a jumper for my daughter and was (mostly) pleased with the result.

One part I really got stuck on was the neckband because I found the pattern so confusing in its explanation. This is the beginning of what it said and where I got stuck for weeks:

’With right side facing, using 2.75mm needles and M, knit up…’

To my dismay I found myself asking, ‘What the hell is ‘knit up’!?!’ I began searching the Internet for some information on it but to no avail. I looked through my kindle knitting books for ‘knit up’ but to no avail. I watched You Tube videos on making a neckband but to no avail. I searched through my knitting encyclopaedia but to no avail. I was at my wits end. The jumper was going to be neckless at this rate and maybe just maybe (dare I say it?)… I’m not the professional I once thought I was! *gasp*

The jumper sat on the to-do list for over a week after this until I decided to take it to the hairdressers and come hell or high water, it was going to be done even if I had to improvise! I took the pattern (‘Great lot of good this ‘knit up’ crappy crap pattern will be!’ I thought to myself) with me and sat in the chair that Richard, my new hairdresser, used. For over an hour I started, unpicked and started again on this… this… neckband. I don’t know why it took me over a week and approximately 10 restarts on the neckband to think of it but it suddenly occurred to me that the pattern book would most likely explain itself considering it was a book for BEGINNERS (that’s right, the up-and-coming-but-not-yet-professionals, professionals… moi). I opened the book to the end and alas! There it was! A perfectly good explanation of what ‘knit up’ meant with pictures! Oh how I love pictures! So here is the explanation of knit up from the back of the book for those of you following the same quest I embarked on for over a week only to find the answer was right under my nose… a few pages on. Hands up if you googled, ‘What (on earth) does “knit up” mean?!?’

One response to “To Knit Up (a neckband)… or not

  1. Pingback: My first knitting creation | The Batchelor Pad

Leave a Reply

