Blueberry Chia Muffins

This weekend my husband is away in the Southern Highlands of PNG. The elections started this weekend so he is up there doing… well, something but considering I am not very good at remembering much related to Defence (other than what effects me directly), I can’t actually say I know exactly what he is doing up there. This probably makes me the ideal Defence wife as I can’t say anything I shouldn’t say because, quite frankly, I have no friggin’ idea! Sometimes to sound like I do know what I am talking about, I will throw in an acronym (because Defence is full of them!) as if I use it all the time and know what it stands for. Totally fools most people but I quickly change the subject when asked to translate said acronym.

So what does that have to do with Blueberry Chia Muffins? Nothing. He’s away so I’m baking 🙂

Anywhos… I have had a fair bit of time on my hands due to hubby being away and I obviously made a VERY strong coffee this morning as I am feeling wired!!! So I have had the energy to look after bubby, cook up some fruit purees for her, wash up dishes, do 2 loads of washing and bake.

If you read my previous post where I talk about Quinoa (and baby food), you will know that I am really into superfoods/grains and incorporating them into as many meals as possible. Well… have I got a little something for you! CHIA.

The lovely chia seeds are full of all things good. They are a complete protein, have omega 3 fatty acids, antioxidants and fibre. Chia also keeps you full for much longer due to it holding more water resulting in a slow release of energy, reducing cravings and keeping your blood sugars stable. What’s not to like about that?

Here are a few sites I’d like to recommend if you are after any more reasons to eat Chia:

I have been checking out The Chia Company which explains the goodness of Chia and also has bit on chia in pregnancy as well as introducing it to your baby from 4-6 months. I buy my chia from there (it’s organic) and have actually visited the Chia farms in the Kimberly 2 years ago so I think it is pretty special.

Another site I want to bring your attention to is Miranda Kerr’s website which features a great blog on 5 reasons to eat chia everyday which coincidently was written by a guest blogger- the founder of The Chia Company (no I am not getting anything for these endorsements! haha!)

What do you add Chia to?

So I’ll get to the recipe already!

The recipe is inspired by Robyn Webb, a foodie, and can be found here. I didn’t change a lot of it to be honest but I did change a few things!

Blueberry Chia Muffins

Ingredients

½ cup unsalted butter, softened
½ cup sugar
2 large eggs
1 cup plain flour
1/3 cup Quinoa Flour
3 tbsp Black Chia Seeds
1 tsp baking powder
½ tsp baking soda
Zest of 1 lemon
¼ tsp salt
½ cup sour cream
2 tbsp fresh lemon juice
1 tsp vanilla essence
1/3 cup frozen blueberries (or more if you like)

Method
1. Heat oven to 180 Celsuis and grease a 12 cup muffin tray.
2. Cream the butter and sugar together until fluffy. Add the eggs one at a time beating well after each addition.
3. In another bowl, combine the plain and quinoa flours, chia seeds, baking powder, baking soda, lemon zest and salt.
4. In yet another bowl, mix the sour cream, lemon juice and vanilla.
5. Add the flour and sour cream mixtures alternately to the sugar, butter and egg mixture. Mix these until just blended.
6. Fold in the blueberries.
7. Divide the batter up into your muffin tray and cook for 20-25 minutes until lightly browned.
8. Let muffins cool for 5 mins before removing them from the tray.
9. Eat away!

Notes:
1. I only had salted cooking butter so instead of ¼ tsp of salt, I only added 1/8 tsp of salt.
2. If you don’t have Quinoa Flour, just do 1 1/3 cup plain flour like in Robyn’s recipe, but Quinoa flour makes them moister and in my opinion, more yummy.
3. You can use Greek yoghurt instead of the sour cream if you wish

I hadn’t planned on letting BG eat these however she gave me no choice when I sat her near them so she could watch me put them away (after all, I baked these with her attached to me in the carrier so she could ‘join in’). She poked one and then snapped it up and started devouring it. She loved it but it made a HUGE mess!

Leave a Reply

