My aversion to Cold & Flu tablets

This week I have been crook. I have been lethargic and had a sore throat which has resulted in a really sexy croaky voice. Ok, maybe not sexy but it did remind me of that ‘Friends’ episode where Phoebe had a croaky voice and suddenly she could sing ‘Smelly Cat’ really sexy and people suddenly loved her… I had considered recording my own rendition of ‘Smelly Cat’ as I know all the words but then thought, ‘No, the world is not ready for me yet. I am ahead of my time.’ lol… I crack myself up!

Ok so I was unwell but generally getting through ok until I tried to have a nap during BG’s morning nap on Monday and found that I was freezing even without any airconditioners on and while under TWO doonas… should I remind you that I live in a tropical country? To be honest, I am cold at the best of times and will often sleep under a doona but have to compromise with my husband on the airconditioner front so we put one on in the room opposite us so that it cools our room a little. The fact that I had ALL of them off and I was under a second doona however sent alarm bells ringing. I. was. sick.

I phoned my husband to ask him to come home early so I could rug up and rest but also so he could visit the clinic and get me some drugs. Luckily for me it was a public holiday and none of the PNG Defence guys had turned up to work – how can my husband be a Liaison Officer when there is no one to Liase with? I don’t know why he bothered to work. Anywhos… he brought home lozenges and… *cue dramatic music*… COLD & FLU TABLETS (with Pseudoephedrine… the hard stuff in other words). To put it bluntly, I HATE cold & flu tablets especially the ones with bloody Pseudoephedrine.

My reasons for hating these tablets are simple. I am just not myself when I take it but then again, who is when they take SPEED!?! So I refused to take them and just stuck to my home made sore throat tea (i.e. boiled ginger, fresh lemon juice and honey- I considered garlic too but thought Daryl may pass out and then he would be of no use to me).

So on Monday night I was heading off to bed exhausted and really looking forward to sleep at around 9pm. At 12.30am I was still awake because every time I was on the verge of falling asleep I would cough till I almost puked. Daryl was awake, BG was awake and I was awake. Daryl finally begged me to take those damn tablets and so I did. I figured at least Daryl and BG should get some sleep even though I knew at this point that I wouldn’t (bloody pseudoephedrine!). To cut a long story short those damn tablets worked and I slept for 3.5hrs all up (1am to 4.30am). After the second dose there was no sleeping as I had the munchies, my heart was racing, my brain was wired and BG was up.

On Tuesday I thought I would nap with BG but no… those bloody tablets kept me going and going and going. I cleaned floors, washed dishes, did a load of washing, dusted, took BG for walks, performed songs from musicals for BG while she looked on as if to say, ‘You’ve lost it Mum. Totally lost it’, air boxed to ‘Eye of the Tiger’ (oh wait, did I just admit to that)… the list goes on! My house looked great and I thought to myself, ‘I’m the best damn Haus Meri this compound has got!’

Do you think I crashed and burned? I thought I would but NO… it is now Friday and I have only managed 1 good nights sleep in between other highly wired nights. I feel tired. I feel better. I’m freaking wired!

That is why I HATE Cold & Flu tablets.

Do you get any annoying side effects from any over the counter meds?

Leave a Reply

