Father’s Day Breakfast

This morning I woke up as soon as BG began chattering in her cot at about 6.45am. It is Father’s Day after all and we had to get cracking on making Daryl’s special breakfast.

This is the first time in 14 years that I have celebrated Father’s Day because my Dad passed away suddenly when I was 17 years old. So for me, it was weird to plan ahead as I had always seen Father’s Day advertisements and thought, ‘Oh that doesn’t apply to me.’ As a result, I haven’t organised a present for Daryl and so the breakfast and home made card had to be good 🙂

Yesterday I went shopping for the weeks food supply on my own. It was a great chance to decide what BG and I would be making for him. His favourite breakfast is Eggs Benedict. I craved this big time while I was pregnant but in PNG, you cannot buy Hollandaise sauce in a bottle (and they don’t usually taste very nice anyhow). As a result, I learnt how to make it from scratch.

I must admit that the sauce didn’t turn out thick enough but the flavour was there AND I forgot that the eggs continue to cook when you take them out of the water. I didn’t allow for this and so my runny eggs ended up not being runny 😦 It’s a bummer but it still tasted good I suppose.

So what did BG do in all this? She helped in her own way of course!

Here’s a pic of the breakfast…

…and a pic of Dad enjoying his breakfast with BG (yes he is clothed under the table haha!)…

What did you do for Father’s Day?

Leave a Reply

