Tandoori Puffs

Last Saturday I was able to do the shopping all on my own while BG napped and Daryl did his Uni assignment. Before I went I made up a shopping list as I usually do to match the meals I have planned for the week.

I feel like our culinary experiments have waned lately and I really enjoy trying new meals in the kitchen. As a result, I went to my usual online recipe diectory for some inspiration. As a result there are a few things I am going to try this week but on Saturday night, we tried the Tandoori Puffs. They were absolutely delicious and we were gland there were left overs for lunch the next day.

I made changes to the recipe while I made it by adding onion and changing how the chickeis cooked because it called for the chicken to be cooked in the microwave – gross! This would be good if you were time poor however I’m personally not a fan. I won’t judge you for doing it though 🙂

Ingredients
2 chicken breasts, cut into 1cm pieces
2 tbsp tandoori paste
1/2 medium onion, thinly chopped
4 sheets frozen puff pastry, half defrosted
1 tbsp milk

Tzatziki
2 tbsp Greek Yoghurt
2cm piece of cucumber, diced
1 garlic clove, crushed
mint, chopped (optional)

Method
1. Preheat oven to 220C.
2. Mix the cut chicken breasts, chopped onion and tandoori paste in a bowl and cook in a non-stick fry pan until chicken is cooked through. Put aside.
3. Cut each of the pastry sheets into 4 squares of equal size and then layer the 4 squares on top of each other. You should have 4 layered squares (4 serves) when you are finished.
4. Spoon the chicken mix into the centre of the squares and brush the edges with milk.
5. Place squares with chicken into the oven for 20 mins or until the pastry is puffed and golden on the edges.
6. To make Tzatziki, mix all the ingredients in a bowl and set to the side (in the refrigerator).
7. When the squares are ready, remove from oven and serve with a dollop of Tzatziki in the middle of the puff.

Leave a Reply

