Home-made Shepherd’s Pie


This is another recipe that I had at my sister’s place. When I asked her for the recipe, she sent me 2 recipes with a note saying, ‘I mix these two up’. I loved her approach because I prefer to use recipes as a guide only whenever I can so that I can make it up to my taste AND then I have a recipe I can claim is all mine (evil laugh).

BG loves it too by the way…

Do you have a meal you have made up from a few recipes combined?

I have now made this twice in the past 2 weeks as it is super easy and super delicious.

Ingredients

400g mince (beef or lamb or both)
Butter (enough to sweat the veges)
1 medium brown onion, diced
2 cloves garlic
1 carrot, cut into 1cm pieces
broccoli, cut into 1cm pieces (put in as much as you like but I match it in quantity to the carrot)
500mL beef stock
1/2 cup frozen peas
1/2 cup frozen corn
1/2 tbsp thyme, chopped
1/2 tbsp rosemary, chopped
1 tbsp corn flour, mixed with 1 tbsp water to make a paste

The Potato Top
3 potatoes, skinned and cut into 2cm pieces
butter to taste
milk (enough to get your mashed potato wet but still able to hold itself)
50g Tasty Cheese, grated

Method

1. Turn on oven griller (if yours takes a while to get to a high heat).
2. Put the potatoes on to boil.
3. Melt the butter in a fry pan and add the onion and carrot. Cook until onion is almost translucent.
4. Add the broccoli to the pan and fry for a further 2 mins.
5. Add the meat and brown (try to separate the meat so that it cooks into small minced pieces).
6. Once the meat has been browned, add the beef stock, thyme and rosemary and simmer until the liquid halves.
7. Check your potatoes and if ready, remove from boil and drain.
8. Add the corn, peas and corn flour paste to the meat mix and stir thoroughly (the corn flour is supposed to slighty thicken the remaining stock like a gravy so keep stirring until you have the consistency you want).
9. Mash your potatoes while adding the butter and milk slowly until you have the right consistency.
10. Transfer the meat to an oven proof pie dish put potato mash on top and then the grated cheese (spread evenly over top).
11. Put the pie under the grill until the cheese has melted and turned golden in parts.
12. Serve (with salad).

Note:
You can put just about any vegetable into this and mine ends up half veges and half meat. I have put zucchini in my pie as well. It’s a great way to increase the vege intake for your kids.

One response to “Home-made Shepherd’s Pie

  1. Pingback: Future Directions | The Batchelor Pad

Leave a Reply

