Autobiography: An opening sentence

I saw a tweet yesterday from @plinkyprompts asking, ‘You’re writing your autobiography. What is your opening sentence?’ I thought this was a fun prompt for a blog.

Cheers to Life as I know it

My autobiography would have this photo or one like it. An autobiography would be a toast to ‘moi’ wouldn’t it?

I came up with the following options for my opening sentence:

  • I sang, I danced (terribly) and I came to realise that neither pays well… so I did other things instead.
  • The rollercoaster of life happens for us all… this is my rollercoaster.
  • Hello.
  • Thank you for reading this autobiography.
  • This is my story.
  • Daughter, Sister, Wife, Mother, Cleaner, Teacher, Nurse, Knitter, Blogger.
  • From the crazy life to the mellow life, I’ve done it all. (This one probably sums it all up the best).

So what would you write as your opening sentence?

Leave a Reply

